Our Team 

Baroness Beeban Kidron OBE is the Founder and Chair of 5Rights. She is a Crossbench member of the House of Lords and sits on the Democracy and Digital Technologies Committee. She is a Commissioner for UNESCO's Broadband Commission for Sustainable Development where she is a member of the Working Group on Child Online Safety; a member of Unicef's AI group; and sits on the Council on Extended Intelligence.

Arietta Valmas is a Policy Officer at 5Rights. Arietta’s background is in content and campaign management on the sustainable development goals primarily from an NGO lens. She has worked on global summits like One Young World and led on strategic engagements at COP26 working with government and corporate partners to prioritise key issues for young people. 

Daral Williams is a Policy Officer at 5Rights. Daral has a background in both qualitative and quantitative research, specialising in the views and experiences of children and young people, and has worked on projects with a variety of children’s organisations. 

Debby Mulling is the Head of Operations and HR at 5Rights. She has worked across education, poverty, and health and social care remits. During the Covid pandemic she co-design and managed the delivery of a £4.8M digital response fund with C.A.S.T., supporting non-profits to respond to the changing needs of their communities. She tested equitable, inclusive, and transparent ways-of-working and governance practices that explore the role of power within relationships with the Catalyst Network and funders.

Duncan McCann is Head of Accountability at 5Rights. Duncan joined 5Rights from the New Economics Foundation where he led the Digital Economy Programme. Duncan has a legal background as well as a decade working in the tech industry for Cisco Systems.

Izzy Wick is the Director of UK Policy at 5Rights. Izzy joined 5Rights from the Civil Service where she specialised in digital service design and user-centred policy making. She has also worked for a number of charities and volunteers as a support worker for a criminal justice charity.

Jazmyn Sadri is Executive Assistant to Baroness Beeban Kidron (Maternity Cover). Prior to joining 5Rights in 2022 she supported CEOs, senior executives and start-ups across the health and social care sectors, most recently Versus Arthritis and the Frontline Organisation. She has also worked as a freelance consultant, helping new organisations establish effective systems and processes and creating order from chaos.

Dr Kruakae Pothong is a Researcher at 5Rights and visiting research fellow in the Department of Media and Communications at London School of Economics and Political Science. Her research spans the areas of human-computer interaction, digital ethics, data protection, Internet and other related policies. She specialises in designing social-technical research, using deliberative methods to elicit human values and expectations of technological advances, such as the Internet of Things (IoT) and distributed ledgers.

Leanda Barrington-Leach is the Director of International Advocacy & Head of European Affairs at 5Rights. Leanda joined 5Rights from the European External Action Service where she was Adviser to the Secretary General focusing on Strategic Communications and the fight against Disinformation. She previously worked in EU advocacy as a consultant and for non-profits, always with a focus on human rights. Leanda volunteers as an Adviser to Plan International, supporting their work on children's rights in EU foreign policy.

Marie-Ève Nadeau is an EU Advocacy Officer at 5Rights. Prior to joining the team, she gained experience in human rights advocacy to the EU and worked as a volunteer for the UNDP's environmental governance program.  She has a background in human rights and the European Union.

Marisa Shea is the US Senior Policy Manager at 5Rights. Marisa brings with her extensive knowledge of the legislative process and children and youth policy. She joined 5Rights from the California Senate Human Services Committee where she served as Chief Consultant.  Prior to that, Marisa was counsel to the California Senate Judiciary Committee, and a Policy Advocate for the California Court Appointed Special Advocates Association.  Marisa received her Bachelor of Science degree from Cazenovia College and her Juris Doctor from University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law.

Natasha Jetha is the Operations Supervisor at 5Rights. She has an extensive policy background and has successfully led on many projects and campaigns at Leonard Cheshire and Independent Age. In the past, Natasha has worked for the NSPCC and was a volunteer counsellor for Childline.

Nichole Rocha is the Head of US Affairs at 5Rights. Nichole brings with her extensive knowledge of the legislative process and data policy. She joined 5Rights from the California Assembly Privacy and Consumer Protection Committee where she served as Chief Consultant.  Prior to that, Nichole was counsel to the California Senate Judiciary Committee.  Nichole received her Bachelor of Arts degree from UC Berkeley and her Juris Doctor from UC Davis.

Nicola White is the Executive Assistant to Baroness Kidron. She was a part of the production team for the film, Victoria & Abdul (produced by Kidron), and has been involved in 5Rights since its inception in 2014. Previously, she worked at Tiger Aspect Productions. 

Professor Sonia Livingstone OBE is a member of the UNCRC General Comment’s Steering Group. Sonia is Professor of Social Psychology in the Department of Media and Communications at the London School of Economics and Political Science. She has published twenty books on media audiences, media literacy, and media regulation, with a particular focus on the opportunities and risks of digital media for children and young people.